Explanation: I intend to do my profile story on Slinky the Clown, the local clown for Pullman. I thought this would be a really interesting and fun profile knowing that this is not something we think about everyday.

Intentions: I want to know what this guy’s everyday life is like and how he goes about being a clown as his profession. I want to know the different kind of perfromances he does and how he got into the business, as well as how long he’s been doing it. I also want to know about the clown perfroming industry as a whole and if its in decline at all.

Why Now: The timing is quite ironic because it is Halloween season and many people hate the sight of clowns right now. I want to touch on how he potentially deals with slow business during this time of year and if he goes to any haunted houses locally as an “evil clown”.

Next Steps: My beat is arts and entertainment and a clown corresponds quite well with that category. I am interviewing him in person on Wednesday at 3 p.m. He will be in his clown suite and will show me some of his equipment. That will be my B-roll footage as well as shots of his house and property. He said he isn’t performing anytime soon so we can’t get B-roll of a perfromance.

My three potential sources are:

  1. Slinky the Clown, (509) 332 1435
  2. Steve Bell, Pullman Senior Program Coordinator, (509) 338 3307
  3. Glenn Johnson, Pullman Mayor, (509) 338 3316

Leave a comment